We use cookies to enhance your user experience.


03.07.2019 / News

Results for the poster competition, “Warsaw – Poland – Europe. Transformations after 1989”

Results for the poster competition, “Warsaw – Poland – Europe. Transformations after 1989”

How has Poland changed politically, economically and socially over the last 30 years? For the occasion of the anniversary of the breakthrough that took place in Poland in 1989, the Museum of Warsaw organised a poster competition relating to the changes experienced by Polish society at that time. The competition received submissions from graphic artists and students of art academies. The awarded and honoured works can be seen at the Museum of Warsaw from 15 June.

The competition is organised by the Museum of Warsaw in cooperation with the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw, the Polish-Japanese Academy of Information Technology and the Association of Graphic Designers. It offers artistic and intellectual commentary on the events and changes of 4 June 1989.

‘Summarizing thirty years of political, economic and social transformation is not an easy task. A poster is a kind of art which uses a graphic shortcut, a symbol, a sign; so its meaning is usually clear and simple, but not always unequivocal. The organisers’ idea was to invite young artists, born in post-communist Poland, to the competition, to see how later generations evaluate the results of this transformation’ – says Piotr Rypson, chairman of the jury. 

The submitted works show the complexity of reality after 1989 in Poland. Young artists point to the divisions that emerged after the Solidarity triumphs or the uncertain and unstable effects of building a democratic system and civil society. Some of the projects also refer to pressing social problems.

From 46 works the jury picked 6 winners: 3 statutory prizes and 3 distinctions. 

1st place (5000 PLN)

Paulina Buźniak

2nd place (3000 PLN)

Bartosz Choryan

3rd place (1000 PLN)

Marek Maciejczyk


Aleksiej Cecocho

Piotr Depta-Kleśta

Marek Maciejczyk

Besides the awarded works, six posters picked by the jury will also be included in the Museum of Warsaw’s post-competition exhibition. These are the pieces submitted by: Paulina Buźniak (second project), Michał Golański, Marek Maciejczyk, Paweł Osiala, Maks Skorwider, and Paweł Stankiewicz.


The jury consisted of:

Piotr Rypson – chairman

art historian, curator, critic, lecturer at the Polish-Japanese Academy of Information Technology

Joanna Górska, Jerzy Skakun

graphic designers, Homework

Mariusz Knorowski

curator of the Poster Museum in Wilanów,the National Museum in Warsaw department

Małgorzata Naimska

deputy director of the Culture Office of Warsaw

Barbara Rogalska

manager of The Museum of Printing, the Museum of Warsaw department

Anna Światłowska

graphic designer, Museum of Warsaw

Filip Tofil

graphic designer, Syfon Studio, representative of the Association of Graphic Designers

Andrzej Tomaszewski

graphic typographer

Mieczysław Wasilewski

graphic designer, professor of the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw